top of page

It's Just a Song


So back then in between 2002-2005, i dated a guy (apparently my neighbour who lived 200m away), who is 5 years older than me. He went to college and i was still in high school. It was my first serious relationship. I dont quite have solid foundation on the benchmark of finding a good guy, or what the good guy should look like. The relationship was rocky, painful (at least for me), but it's a part who made me who i am right now. When i went to college, we broke up, for real. Eventhough i still (think) have feelings for him. He left, and it was dramatic moment for me. Painful to be exact. I remembered i have 3 songs on my MP3 player, that i played repeatedly like a zillion times. It was Earth Wind & Fire with Phil Perry in it - After the Love has Gone Whitney Houston - All at Once, and the last one is Gino Vanelli - I Just Wanna Stop. I cried silently many-many times, in the bus, in my room, while doing dishes. Back then it wasn't the era of SPEAK UP where u can pour your sadness in social media, or telling your parents how you feel about it. Fast forward to the era where i have 0 feelings for him, or the relationship, i tried to listen to Gino Vanelli again. I feel, okay. Just fine. The song is beautifully composed, arranged, with a beautiful lyric as well.

It was my feelings who made the song sad, but it's no longer like that. It is just a good song now.







bottom of page